What if they don’t want to…

There are times when clients do not want to sign a Do No Resuscitate (DNR) form.  That is the form which indicates no CPR will be done on their body.  Placing your name on that form and accepting the reality of “nature taking its course” is just not as easy as it sounds.

I brought the paperwork for a DNR home and thought I was going to hypothetically fill it out and just my name.  Just to see what it felt like to sign my name.  When I put the pen down to the line for my signature a wave of emotions came over me.  I began to weep and could not write my name!

The point was made…even a hypothetical signing, just to get a feel for what clients may go through, brought a deep reaction.  All the talk of surety and bravery was washed over with sadness, finalization, fear and resignation.

To think that I routinely ask people to sign this form was crazy!  My empathy, my way of approach, my description of DNR and my compassion for those signing on the line rose to new heights.  It’s just not that easy…

About jackiebates

Experience: Registered Nurse 31 years Hospice Nurse 6 years Certified Hospice Palliative Nurse 4 years Caring for the dying is a passion that continues to grow and motivate me in life. Their intimate situations has allowed me a unique opportunity to help facilitate what others and I can learn about real life. Please teach me, challenge me and help me help others. All material written is copywritten 2011
This entry was posted in End-of-Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

