Expenses

Here’s a really tough topic!  You would not believe how this affects end of life care.  A lot of people make decisions on insurance/medicare paying the bill.  So many folks will not get hospice care because of financial decisions.

The fact that room and board are paid is a relief in one sense, but a tragedy in another perspective.  The tragedy is comfort care will not be initiated and the family will not benefit from the support of the hospice team.

Part of my role is to help people see their life expectancy is much shorter than what amount of money is in the bank.  I find that conversation very tender, confronting of their reality and yet even freeing at times for their decisions.

 

About jackiebates

Experience: Registered Nurse 31 years Hospice Nurse 6 years Certified Hospice Palliative Nurse 4 years Caring for the dying is a passion that continues to grow and motivate me in life. Their intimate situations has allowed me a unique opportunity to help facilitate what others and I can learn about real life. Please teach me, challenge me and help me help others. All material written is copywritten 2011
This entry was posted in I Can Help. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

