Loneliness in Dying

Loneliness in dying can be a natural phase to go through.  No one can really understand the impact a person has as they face their last weeks of life.

There is a difference in being lonely and being alone.  I know people who want to be by themselves, quiet and readying themselves for the separation that comes at end of life.  Then there are others that experience that emotion of loneliness and it can be a really sad time.

Entering in to the center of this emotion as a hospice nurse is one of the greatest privaleges I know.  It feels intimate, unique, personal and is a way to give grace and mercy one more time!

About jackiebates

Experience: Registered Nurse 31 years Hospice Nurse 6 years Certified Hospice Palliative Nurse 4 years Caring for the dying is a passion that continues to grow and motivate me in life. Their intimate situations has allowed me a unique opportunity to help facilitate what others and I can learn about real life. Please teach me, challenge me and help me help others. All material written is copywritten 2011
This entry was posted in End-of-Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loneliness in Dying

  1. Samantha says:

    Wow, Jackie. I really thought this entry spoke volumes. It is sometimes difficult to understand small differences in the way that individuals view their situation. It is important that we are all able to see the bigger picture and fill in where we are needed most. And honestly, sometimes we are just needed in the hand of the person we are caring for. A gentle reassuring squeeze telling them it is okay, and they are not alone.

    • jackiebates says:

      Your feedback is excellent Samantha! One of my favorite times in life is to facilatate thinking. If that is what this entry did, I am overjoyed for sure. Isn’t it amazing what impact our hands can have on others? That gentle reassuring squeeze you refer to has made an impact on my own life too. Glad to have you on my blog!

Leave a Reply

