First Meetings

I have been thinking about the first time I walk into the presence of a potential client and we have that initial eye contact.  What’s it like for them?  What are their first impressions?  Do they want to run?

That first meeting feels like a pace setter.  I figure (and maybe I am wrong) some of these folks are thinking, “this is who is going to help me die.”  Can you imagine that thought?  Getting a glimpse of a person who will walk with you through death must be very deep!

I am sure my full schedule or self-centeredness has hindered their trust or offended them in some degree.  So, I thank God for those first meetings and the grace people share with me.  May I remember I am in an honoring position of being a guest in their life.

 

 

About jackiebates

Experience: Registered Nurse 31 years Hospice Nurse 6 years Certified Hospice Palliative Nurse 4 years Caring for the dying is a passion that continues to grow and motivate me in life. Their intimate situations has allowed me a unique opportunity to help facilitate what others and I can learn about real life. Please teach me, challenge me and help me help others. All material written is copywritten 2011
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

