Elderly

Today I experienced the reality of the elderly.  Due to the heat of the day (95 degrees), several elderly people were inside their homes that were at least 100 degrees!  One lady was a bit disoriented, shaking and obviously dehydrated.

For this woman, we opened a window and got a fan going.  When I checked on her an hour later, she wanted everything closed up again.  “I’d rather be warm than cold,” she said. 

We have to make decisions at times to let life happen for the elderly or to walk away from a dying person who really does not have the level of care or help I would like for them.

The resolve is this…we all are cared for in a supernatural way, we all have the option to be content in our circumstance and if we do the right thing for that moment we have experienced being a neighbor.

Jackie

About jackiebates

Experience: Registered Nurse 31 years Hospice Nurse 6 years Certified Hospice Palliative Nurse 4 years Caring for the dying is a passion that continues to grow and motivate me in life. Their intimate situations has allowed me a unique opportunity to help facilitate what others and I can learn about real life. Please teach me, challenge me and help me help others. All material written is copywritten 2011
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

